C Is For….

cockiness ahem… CONFIDENCE

At some point being confident has become a bad thing. If you work hard and are reasonably comfortable in your abilities then you are seen as self-absorbed, boastful and even downright vain.

Why is it “ok” for moms and dads, husbands and wives, brothers and sisters, coaches and training partners to tell us we have worked hard and are more than ready to meet the challenge that lies before us, but it’s NOT “ok” for us to speak these words to ourselves?

Society has a certain fondness for dictating what we should and should not do or say, but more often than not, society doesn’t have a clue. 

Society isn’t swimming 7+ miles a week, cycling 70+ and running 30+, in addition to; maintaining a career (my swim cap goes off to all y’all out there), raising children to be productive members of society, and creating a sense of day-to-day normalcy around the house. Society isn’t slapping vaseline and teet balm on saddle sores so painful that merely sitting in a Lazy Boy should qualify as an endurance event, much less cranking out 45 miles with one. Society doesn’t do 800 meter repeats, at puke pace, in attempts to shave milliseconds off a 5k split. So you’ll have to excuse me, for again thinking, that society doesn’t know jack.

Numerous studies continue to prove that regardless of the athletic endeavour, out of all the coping skills possessed, confidence has the greatest impact on performance. Those who are confident have the ability to be positive, motivated, intense, focused, and emotionally in control when needed. Confident athletes are not negative and uncertain in difficult situations and they are not overconfident in easy ones either. It is this confidence that allows competitors to seek out difficult or challenging situations and choose those as the ones they wish to pursue. Hmmm, does this sound like you? It should !!

As race season gets into full swing (1 day and counting, thank you) and transition bags are being packed, lets not forget to bring some of that ever important confidence along with us. Leave self-doubt, pessimism and negativity behind.

After all the hard work, hours of being miserable training, IT IS 100% OK to walk around transition or the pre-race staging area and think to yourself, “I Sooo Got This.” As a matter a fact, I highly recommend it. Just try it and see if the end result isn’t far better than spending 2 hours doubting your abilities and questioning your preparation.

Now realize folks, “I Got This” means different things to you, to me, to the guy doing wind sprints, and to the girl racing in the smallest tri suit bikini ever created. Perhaps its finishing the race and looking like a supermodel doing so, or establishing a new PR, or maybe a top 3 age group finish, or perhaps simply beating your spouse’s time in the run because he had knee surgery 2 weeks ago and this is a once in a lifetime shot :-o. Whatever it means to you, it’s yours and yours alone. Just know, “you’ve got it” and don’t be afraid to say it (preferably to yourself).

Ok, so does all this confidence guarantee success? Does it solidify meeting each and every hope, dream, goal of finishing with great hair, a new PR, a spot on the podium, or kicking some husband ass? Should all those trophies and plaques, from those future races, be engraved with your name right now? Hell no! It still has to be earned. Every single long, painful, glorious stroke, pedal and step. But just know, stranger things have happened to those who believed in themselves and were confident in their abilities! 

Just take a look…

 

 

Run Happy, My Friends!

Go Confidently In The Direction Of Your Dreams -Henry David Thoreau

 

3 thoughts on “C Is For….

  1. I like this post a lot because I’m feeling cocky, I MEAN CONFIDENT about my first tri. Weird, right? I haven’t even done one, and I’m not at all nervous about the ability to finish.
    Good luck in your race! You trained your butt off.

  2. Be what you need to be… because no one else is gonna get your butt to the finish line BUT you! I knew I had what it took to make it and I did, but I also knew it wouldn’t be a perfect performance..and it wasn’t. There is always rooom for analyzing and improving. I never once felt bad about having that confidence because I feel like I work hard for it. Race Day is merely vindication day! Proof that the hard work is paying off.
    I’ll try to post a race summary tomorrow…last night we had to help chaperone a beach bonfire one of our son’s friends was having…..by 8pm I was almost in a coma, patting down 13 year olds for Jolt, and by 9 I was ready to start grabbing cell phones and calling parents to come pick their kids up, but my husband wouldn’t let me! I’m still tired!
    NOTE: do not agree to help ANYONE do ANYTHING after your race!!!
    Race Recap Teaser: I beat my husband!! 🙂 whoop! whoop!

Leave a Reply

