The Best Laid Plans…

One thing about me is that I’m a planner. But as they say, even the best laid plans often go astray…

When I go out for my long runs I know where the scary dogs live, who waters their lawn in the morning so I can get a quick cool down and where I will stop to pee. This is essential because I’m going to have to stop. Not if, but when. If I even THINK about maybe needing to stop, I will , right then, need to stop. So I have a plan.

Saturday was no different.

7 mile run scheduled. 

The Plan: Park as the school, run about 2 miles then stop at the park to visit the potty. Not the best facility on the coast, but a permanent structure with both a  men’s and women’s side,  3 stalls (doors too), and most times there’s even TP. Oh and they have a sink too, which is nice for hand washing, cooling off (heat is always an issue) or rewetting electrodes if the garmin is acting screwy.

Since I started out knowing full well I would stop at the park, when I got there I made a quick bee line for the center where the facilities are located. Or not! WTF?

I was now walking in circles looking for a misplaced bathroom. I couldn’t figure out where 2 huge buildings had wandered off to? Who stole my bathrooms? I know times are tough, but I need them! They were just here a couple of days ago. The more I paced, the more I had to pee and it was becoming a HUGE problem. How is a person suppose to run under such conditions I ask?

How could the city do this to me? 

Then I found the slab where they once stood. It had been leveled. Demolished. Gone!

Really?

Chalk it up to another glorious benefit of living in paradise.

So I’ve spent the better part of the past 3 days trying to not storm into city hall and cuss out all the fat ass city officials and also reroute all my runs. The park was my home base for my shorter ones as well because, well it had the bathroom. Now there is absolutely no option other than the azalea bushes in people’s front yards. And if it comes to that….

Well hey…a girl’s gotta do what a girls gotta do!

Run Happy, My Friends!

2 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. Oh so not fair. Seriously not fair. We won’t even mention the places I have made an emergency pitstop. 🙂

    • I know…and I can not, for the life of me, figure out WHY???? I mean I could understand locking them during certain hours or something, but totalling leveling the thing???? ERRRRRRR…makes me so mad!

Leave a Reply

