Stepping Stones to Milestones

It started as a simple question about 4 years ago.

AquaDoc and I were sitting on the beach watching BoyGenius build sand castles when he poses the question, “So, what’s on your bucket list?”

It took me about 30 seconds to answer.

Ironman

Fast forward to today. After a slew of injuries, over a year in rehab, and another year clawing my way back into the racing world…

I am finally ready to jump over that next hurdle:

Registration Confirmation for:

Dear Jennifer,

Congratulations! You are now registered for 2012 Memorial Hermann Ironman 70.3 Texas. Please check the event’s official website for updates: http://www.ironmanlonestar.com

Memorial Herman 70.3 on April 1, 2012 in Galveston, TX.

I’m so excited, it was all I could do to not run in the street and scream it to everyone outside, but my neighbors just wouldn’t get it.

I know y’all do.

It’s not the full 140.6, but a big step to getting there and I’m all about baby steps these days.

AquaDoc is racing it with me as well and if we don’t kill each other during training, it will make for one hell of an after party.

I look forward to sharing the journey with all of y’all.

Let me know if your 2012 race schedule includes Galveston as well. I’d love to meet up at some point.

Train Happy, My Friends!

6 thoughts on “Stepping Stones to Milestones

    • It’s been a long road…and I know you know all about those! I was almost afraid to say it outloud for fear I would jinx myself and something “else” would happen, but then decided I wasn’t going to live in fear anymore, it is what it is. We’ve all learned to roll w/ the punches and come out on top.I think that’s why we all love these events so much…they break us down and its when we think we have nothing left, we see the finish line, and we know we’re gonna make it and it’s gonna be ok! 🙂 life and sport!!

  1. That is awesome. So so so sooooooo awesome. Darn it, you’re going to inspire me to do one next year, aren’t you? There’s no avoiding it now!
    You are going to do fantastic, this I know, you train like a mo-fo 🙂

  2. The journey, whether a 70.3 or a 140.6 is so incredible. Congrats on taking that step and signing up for the race in 4/2012. Looking forward to following your progress here.

Leave a Reply

