If You Try Sometimes, You Get What You Need

The past few months I’ve been struggling to produce a run that I feel is worth a damn.

It’s been a hot and humid summer no doubt, and a lot of cycling and swimming have also been thrown into the mix, but it’s been months since I’ve logged a really good quality run.

This was beginning to take its toll….physically and mentally.

The harder I’d try, the worse things would get.

My pace would slow, my frustration would build, and my attitude would disintegrate.

So I just stopped…

Trying that is.

Some of  y’all may be asking….

A) what IS the magic pace ??   and

B) why is it so freaking important???

Well, let me tell you….

I’m actually looking much further down the road to my 1/2 marathons and 70.3 in the winter and next spring. I want to finish the 1/2 in under 2 hours and as of last year, I’m 7 minutes off that mark. I figure if my “everyday” pace is around a 9 min/mile, then I SHOULD be able to reach this goal once I start focusing on running throughout the winter. Last spring, when I set this goal, I was easily running 9:20 min/mile so this idea didn’t seem too far fetched……until the summer hit and things went to hell with the weather.

So pace be damned, I headed out this morning for a…gasp…run.

No pressure, no running buddies…..just me, my Ipod…..and yes, I brought the Garmin…..I can’t help it. I’m an addict.

As I’m running along, I glance down to check my heart rate as the 1st mile chirps off and I see 9:30…hmm, not too bad….

Next mile chirps 8:54 (nice), next 8:46 (sa-weet), next 8:39 (kickin’ ass), next 8:49 (I may cry), till the very last chirp 8:40 (OMG did I just do this?).

The entire run was over and my average pace was 8:55 min/ mi.

Not necessarily fast, but fast enough to continue working to meet the goals I have set for myself.

I jumped up and down. I screamed and yelled. Walkers wondered if I had lost my mind and I really felt the need to explain that I’d actually FOUND it, right then and there!

I desperately WANT to be a fast runner.

I don’t know if I ever will be.

What I do know is this….

Today, out on that road, I may not have gotten what I wanted, but I certainly got what I needed!

And it was WONDERFUL!

 

Run Happy, My Friends!

9 thoughts on “If You Try Sometimes, You Get What You Need

  1. congrats on having such a succeful wrong!
    sometimes, when I feel like I’m in a running rut. I MAKE myself go run with other people. It helps me become re-inspired and to push myself. keep up the great work!

  2. The weather seems to be a huge factor for all of us in the HOT states. I swear the heat and humidity does suck the life right out of you and makes recovering so much harder so that when you turn around to do another run, you are in a recovery deficit, over and over again. Canada is starting to look promising. J/k! Great job getting what you needed!

    • Kc I swear we must all be chronically dehydrated and suffering from a bit of heat exhaustion. This past week with temps in the upper 80s to low 90s made such a huge difference, both physically and mentally!!

  3. I am proud of you for hauling some ass. It is hot outside my friend. That’s why I don’t run in the summer! I am a wimp but, you are an Iron Girl. 🙂

    • Awww, so good to hear from you on here!! I am only striving to be your husband and make it to some championship out there somewhere…or at least be able to chase him down in a few weeks!! 🙂

  4. nice!! Yes, I’m just now getting around to reading blog posts 🙂 Have definitely gone dark in the past few months! But I was excited to read about your running progress. A run like that can definitely spark some renewed confidence!

  5. Oh yes, I know the feeling…. I ‘used to be ‘ a fast runner 😦 Trying to get it back!! My overall goal is an 8:45 pace on the 70.3’s. Right now, still a work in progress…

    • I wish I new the secret or had the key that could unlock it….it comes so natural for some. I’m pretty fortunate that I have tons of endurance and I’m faster off the bike, if the weather is co-operating and not sucking the life out of me!! 🙂 I really think it’s because I’m already very warmed up. Thes old muscles need that these days!! I just need to learn my wattage better so I know how much I can pull and still “get away with it”.

Leave a Reply

