The Year of the Dragon…Finding Her Way

Welcome to 2012!

I survived…how ’bout y’all?

I hope everyone had a WONDERFUL holiday and is back to doing what they love with a vengeance.

The start of a new year is always a good time to reassess things….keep what works, change what doesn’t, and add in a lil’ something new to the mix.

One of may favorite things to change-up each year, is my mantra….

The start of a new year just seems like a great time for a new “go to” phrase to help carry you the distance when you need it most.

Kinnda like in the Chinese Calendar…except for motivation.

Fun Fact of the Day:

2012 is the year of the:

DRAGON…..just incase you were curious 🙂

Well in MY calendar, 2012 is the year of

FINDING A WAY

When it seems too hard, too long, too hot ,too cold, too windy….that there’s not time, that fatigue is too great, or that the legs just won’t move another step….

That’s when it’s time to simply “FIND A WAY”.

It doesn’t have to pretty, set records, or establish new heights of performance.

Just digging deep and finding a way is a measure of success in and of itself.

I think this will carry over well throughout the 2012 racing season as I tackle the 70.3 distance a couple of times and evaluate my desire/ability to complete the full 140.6 in 2013 or 2014.

So how about you?

What changes did you make for 2012?

What worked so well in 2011 that you kept it around for another year?

It’s really good to be back with everyone!! I’ve missed y’all! 🙂

Train Happy, My Friends!

5 thoughts on “The Year of the Dragon…Finding Her Way

  1. I really like that, A LOT, “find a way”. I mean, not because my blog is called “finding my happy pace”, but, with all the hoops I jump through to get to the starting line of my races, I think “find a way” is a great way to think about getting through those hoops. Thanks a lot for posting this! I’ll be thinking those words a lot I’m sure!

    • Sometimes we set barriers b/c we expect so much of ourselves…maybe b/c we always compare ourselves to the other runner or the other racer…every single day isn’t going to be wonderful…we all have to accept that and find a way to get through…you’re doing pretty good Steena! 😉

  2. Pingback: Flight of the Tilted Pelvis | Finding my happy pace

Leave a Reply

