This Ain’t The Way To Have Fun

For the past 2 weeks the wind has been blowing like a son-of-a bitch.

Take that wind and add a new carbon bike with an extremely aggressive aero position, then throw in 1 slightly ill cyclist….

Well, you may very well have found the perfect storm.

At the very least, if you were on the Mississippi Coast last Sunday, you may have witnessed a nervous breakdown on the side of the road.

I was cooked…done…

My give a shitter, had given out.

By 40 miles I was almost reduced to tears. It took every ounce of mental perseverance to not call my husband to come and retrieve me, load up the bike, and drive my ass home.

My chest hurt, there was a steady 15-20 mph headwind, and the gusts were stronger. When I would change directions, the crosswind became so brutal, simply controlling the bike was a feat in and of itself.

I was angry. No I was downright MAD….

AT THE WIND!

The sad part is, I knew better.

I know, and I knew then, how pointless this is and that I was doing nothing but wasting valuable energy. But I just couldn’t get my head straight.

I finished the 2.5hr ride discouraged, deflated, and downright depressed.

Galveston is going be windy. The conditions are almost identical to what we have here on the Mississippi coast. It’s one of the reasons I elected to do it.

Doubt, however; has now arrived at the party. I guess it was inevitable.

Cycling is my strongest discipline. I depend on having a great ride to set up the run because, for me, running is ALWAYS hard. It doesn’t matter if it’s a 5k at the end of a sprint or 13.1 at the end of the half-ironman. Each and every mile, once I leave T2, are a battle.

I was warned about Galveston and the winds, but elected to take em’ on as opposed to fighting the heat and humidity later in the season.

I’m now wondering if I should’ve heeded the advice of others….

25 days and counting…

Ride Happy, My Friends!

8 thoughts on “This Ain’t The Way To Have Fun

    • Thanks. I’m trying to be grateful to HAVE the conditions so I’m not surprised like so many others will be…but man, this last month is going to be a struggle!

  1. I feel like I am reading one of my own posts. The wind can suck the life, energy and confidence right out of you. I have been there. Even the strongest cyclists get their a$$ handed to them every once in awhile and adding in a twitchy tri bike, that is a soul sucking ride. You are preparing yourself in the conditions that will give you an edge. And hopefully you will be able to say, “that ride was tough, but NOTHING like *that* day at home”…my new shirt idea…WIND BLOWS!

  2. There’s no question that the wind sucks. But everyone is going to have to fight the same conditions on race day, and you’re going to be better prepared than a lot of other athletes that day. Hang in there!

    • You sound just like my husband….you rational men!! I know there is no changing the course or conditions…I just want to be the one that seems to be unaffected!! That’s not asking for much is it?? 🙂

  3. Oh, I’ve called my hubby to come get me SEVERAL times. LOL! Usually it’s because a storm brewed up and I couldn’t keep riding in the wind/rain…..like couldn’t stay up upright on my bike. But also b/c I was ALL done. Part of being a Tough Chik is knowing the difference between coping out and needing help. Or maybe I’m just a whimp. 🙂

    • I wasn’t far from home so I was able to persuade myself to go on…prob. not the smartest since I was sick. Now today when the winds were gusting at 30mph, and I WAS having having a hard time staying on my bike, I acted much more rationally and headed home after 15 miles and finished the remaining 15 rest on the trainer. I’m in total agreement that knowing your limitations and accepting them is tougher than NOT doing it. In the end, it always ends up for the best.

Leave a Reply

