Keeping Recovery Simple

Recovery is a discipline just like swimming, riding, and running yet very few of us have perfected it…

Maybe because it’s the most difficult.

There is no doubt about its importance, but all too often it tends to get pushed to the back burner.

Life takes over.

It happens.

And that can lead to a very unpleasant training cycle…or two….hundred 😉

NOT that I would know anything about that…..

Yesterday I was told to cut my workouts short if I wasn’t going to be able to cool-down, stretch, and eat properly following each session.

No ifs, ands, or buts about it.

So I started looking stuff up, as I tend to do, to see just how “off” things have been….

Then decided to share my findings, as I also like to do, because I KNOW y’all can’t be recovering like everyone says they are!!

Not judging, just saying’….

This is probably more than anyone wants to read, but for you scientific minds it’s the basic chemistry behind recovery and how to add up your recovery points.

This is the more simplified version.

Googling “TQR” or “total quality recovery” produces some nifty spreadsheets from various strength and conditioning sites that may or may not be useful as well.

The main point here is that these scales are EASY!

I can honestly tell you that unless I sleep with my HR monitor on, I am not checking my pulse in the morning. And I won’t even admit how many times I’ve done THAT!

This is a quick behavioral audit to keep recovery front and center….

FYI, my numbers have apparently been around 11 for as long as I can remember…and they should really be closer to 17….

YIKES!!!

Train Smartly, My Friends!

2 thoughts on “Keeping Recovery Simple

  1. Recovery is one of those things that the more you’re experienced at this stuff, the more you know what’s right and wrong.. If that makes any sense. Like today, post race, my legs feel GREAT, like I could have gone for a run or a ride, but, I didn’t knowing that they need some rest after a race.

Leave a Reply

