Ironman Florida- 19 weeks and Counting

I’m a week late on the IM19 recap…

If all goes well this week will be a two-fer…

No promises though…

Last week we fled the premises…

Training while on vacation is a first and while ideally I would’ve preferred the trip to fall during a recovery week, it didn’t happen that way….

Such as the training calendar turns…

Unknown-2Vacation took us to a little barrier island about 2 hours east of Panama City Beach, just across from Apalachicola, FL.

St. George Island and Apalachicola are TINY!!

No condos, no malls, no grocery outlets….

The beaches were beautiful; porpoises swam as close as 20 feet from shore, pelicans hung out with kids on rafts, otters would cross the road in the middle of the day, and it was so quiet you could hear the fisherman talking offshore.

EXTREMELY RELAXING!!!

Very slow-paced and the perfect place to get some quality training in AND some quality recovery time!!

SWIM:

246850_0861250

I finally got to spend some time in an outdoor pool and let me tell you, I do not know how you folks do it…That pool was 89-91F and felt like I was swimming through waves of warm pee. I couldn’t swim more than 250 yds without stopping to allow the sea-breeze to cool me off some. The Biloxi natatorium, where I log my swimming yardage at home, is a constant chilly 80-84F and while it’s a bit frigid to start, after about 800 yds things feel pretty good. No longer will I dream of swimming in an outdoor pool thank you very much!! I got the work done, but there were no real endurance sets or speed sets for that matter. It was just a matter of putting my head down and grinding out some laps, around 9000 yards total for the week….and refilling my water bottle A LOT!

BIKE:

THIS was the best place to ride! sorta…

The island has 2 roads that travel from one end of the island to the other. One of the roads has a “bit” more traffic while the other is where the golf carts, scooters, and tandem bikes travel. I told you, it is LOW key!!!

We rode from 1 side of the island and back...then back...and back...and back

We rode from 1 side of the island to the other and then back and forth several times

This little sliver of land is only about 22 miles long, but it is a straight shot with very few stops. But don’t let the flatness of the terrain confuse you…. these were no easy rides! The wind out here was brutal. Fortunately, we’re use to breezy conditions on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi. It’s not uncommon to have 10-15 mph winds in your face for hours on end! It was a good thing too because once we got out here, the winds were blowing 15 mph or so, but there was NOTHING to break that wind….no trees, buildings…NOTHING….It was like peddling in the middle of the ocean. But work is work…watts are watts and so we just put in the time and enjoyed ourselves. We got a few 90 min rides in and then a I logged my 3.5 hour long ride as well. I was just under 100 miles for the week and considering the conditions I was doing some seriously good work and feeling damn good doing it. I was very happy with this week of riding!!

Had my 1st wreck of the season...wrong tires for sand!

Had my 1st wreck of the season…wrong tires for sand!

heat index over 100F and windy...1 of many stops to refill water bottles

heat index over 100F and windy…1 of many stops to refill water bottles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RUN:

These days the run is about survival. It’s always hot, it’s always humid, and it’s always hard. Success is only having to stop on the mile to water down with a hose instead of every other minute. The combination of acclimation, salt consumption, shade, and moving at a snail’s pace finally allowed me to “run” again.

It was still miserable, there is no way around that when it’s over 90 F and a humid swamp, but it is what it is…Like the pool, just held my head up and grinded out the miles focusing on what I could control….form, breathing, hydrating and managed right about 20 miles for the week.

The best part of the week….without a doubt….was the recovery…..

0618131242

Ahhhh, what we could all do with more free time like this, huh??!!! 🙂

Now it’s back to reality for a week or so then we head out to Texas to visit family and get a little summer race action in as well.

I vaguely remember saying, a few years ago, would NEVER, EVER… race in Texas, in July again…

So the story always goes….

Never say never!

Train Happy, My Friends!

thumbs_up_happy_face

8 thoughts on “Ironman Florida- 19 weeks and Counting

  1. I can’t stand swimming in warm water. We have a couple local (indoor) pools that I like to avoid b/c the water is so warm. And I did a half iron (which was shortened due to heat) last summer where the water was over 90 degrees. It was horrible. 😦

  2. What a great week! I love swimming in the outdoor pool BUT it has to be early in the morning. Also too if it has been crazy hot out, the pool is way too warm even then. Totally agree with you!

  3. I still want to try swimming in an outdoor pool! I don’t think the hot water would bother me as much, but I guess it could be dangerous.
    You have me 2nd guessing my decision to leave my bike at home for my little vacation next week, feeling like I should bring it!

  4. nice week Jen! Love the thought of outdoor pools too, been there done that and I decided looking 60 years old at 40 years of age was not a good look, so indoor pool for me forever! Sorry about your crash. Good to get it out of the way and you aren’t allowed anymore this year. You must tell me where you got the badass skulls for your wheels. I love them!!

    • Yes b/c being in those chemicals does quite a number on the skin when they are chilled….add the sun…some dehydration, and it can turn pretty ugly, pretty quickly!!
      I’ll email you…but the wheel stickers were from a place called WheelTags…think they went out of biz which sucks b/c they are AWESOME!! They had tons of designs and/or you could create a custom number if you so desired!!

Leave a Reply

