Ironman Florida- 16 weeks and Counting…

OverthinkingReturning from Texas proved to be fairly stressful.

I was carrying residual, hidden fatigue from racing and it was a VERY busy week here once we made it back home. Those two things, combined with a fairly large jump in training volume put me in a somewhat unfamiliar mental state…..

I started to constantly overthink everything….

I’m normally very “present” during each training session, but throughout week 16, I was always somewhere else….distracted, trying to make the rest of the week gel a bit more smoothly.

Pre-planning my rides while I was swimming, then second guessing when I was riding….leading to the inevitable, “how in the hell am I ever gonna get ‘x, y, z’ done?” and “oh shit, I forgot to pick up the dog at the groomers yesterday!” 🙂

Obviously, it led to nothing productive and just added more stress an already stressful workload. As the week came to an end, I was exhausted….not from the training per say, but from simply overthinking it all.

6a00d834cad15053ef0115710a904f970b-800wiI came to the conclusion that while I prefer to look at my workouts day-to-day, that simply isn’t feasible anymore. As the volume increases and training hours climb to over 14-15 hours/week, there IS a bit of juggling that needs to occur on a weekly basis to assure the rest of life runs smoothly. It is my hope that this will allow me  to better focus on the present task rather than going into a chronic state of mind drift!

It sounds great on paper, I’ll keep ya’ posted on how it turns out in real life!

As for the work itself, it looked a whole lot worse in Training Peaks than it actually ended up being once things got started…..which was nice.

I think this, “bark being worse than the bite,” may be the new trend…

All the way till the end!

Swim: You would be amazed at the many different ways a coach can mix up a swim workout. The overall distance doesn’t change all that much, but the sets and intervals do….Right now a strength component is being added to the mix so that means a lot of pulling. Total distance: 8000 yards/ 2 hours 40 minutes

Bike: Now more than ever, I’m so grateful to have two bikes to ride. I ride my Cervelo during the week when my rides are under 90 minutes and then I break out the QR on the weekends for the long ride. My ass is ever so grateful come Saturday for the change! The shorter rides during the week were mostly strength intervals and then I tackled a 4+hr long over the weekend. It was my longest to date and I was able to hold my HIM wattage comfortably so I was quite pleased. I was finally able to “see” myself finishing the IMFL bike during this ride. Its been rather elusive up until this point, but after crossing 70 miles I  felt like a huge weight had been lifted off my shoulders. Finally, I feel like I can just ride again….Total time in the saddle: 7 hours 45 minutes

Run: I got it done. Some days were better than others, but for the most part it’s the same ole’ story: hot, humid, miserable….The runs during the week were fairly short at under an hour and then the long on Sunday is now just over ninety minutes. Despite the conditions, I’ve been able to hold my pace to right under a 10:00/min mile with walk breaks….I found after my last HIM that I needed more practice with the stop/start thing since it’s not quite as easy as it appears. Total Time: 2 hours 30 minutes

Looking back, I’m not quite sure how I got anything else done. And the scary part is….the hours are just starting to build!

I hope everyone is having a great week out there and a special should out to everyone heading out to IMRacine this weekend!!

Good Luck, Be Safe, and as always….

Race Happy, My Friends!

racer

Leave a Reply

