Mad as a Hatter

Last weekend, limits were pushed to new levels…

More mentally than physically and I, personally, think that’s the core of long distance racing.

Conditions were unpleasant to say the least and by 9am this is what things looked like:

1157625_10151576877281987_2135783859_n

 

I started early on the trainer, around 4:45am, before the sun came up so my heat exposure would be kept to a minimum. It was just as miserable at 7 am, 8 am, and 10 am, as it was at 9 am.

alice-have-i-gone-madThose little voices in my head were busy, busy, busy…

“This is crazy! You’ve gone mad! Why the hell are you doing this? Not one second of this is fun?!! Look at you, out here for hours all by yourself while everyone else is sleeping in, drinking beer, and eating french fries”

Yeah, Yeah, Yeah….

I’ve heard it all before…

Same shit, different day….

Eventually the voices grew tired and stopped, which was nice….maybe that means I’m NOT really crazy after all…

But then, perhaps being crazy really isn’t such a bad thing….

Throughout the entire 5:40 of riding and running, there honestly was not 1 time where I felt like I physically could not go on…

Mentally, that’s a whole different story.

It was scorching and I despise being out in those conditions. And not only did I have to do it Saturday, I had another 3.5 hours on Sunday to tackle. For a few minutes on Saturday, I let THAT fact alone become very overwhelming. It took a few miles to bring myself back to the present and focus on the here and now.

My crazy self, like to chime in during these moments with things like:

  • “Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishments.” and
  • “Bite off more than you can chew, then chew it” or
  • “If the plan doesn’t work, change the plan not the goal”

“Crazy Self” actually has thousands of these and will use as many as needed to bring me back to reality. On this day, once I regrouped and began to notice the cars, the water tower, the silly dog chasing the sprinkler (lucky dog!), and oh yeah, my current wattage….the mantras ceased.

Long distance preparation is hard and we all have struggles, mine just happens to be the heat.

Come November, it’s not going to be 100+ degrees ( ohhh, I hope not), but I guarantee there will be some other obstacle that has to be overcome. I know when that moment arrives, I’ll have the ability to handle whatever it may be, because of the hurdles I’m climbing today.

So for now, I’ll keep on battling my nemesis, knowing my crazy self will always be there to pull me through, just when I need it most….

One mile at a time….

Train Happy, My Friends!

thumbs_up_happy_face

 

 

5 thoughts on “Mad as a Hatter

  1. You’re toughening yourself up for whatever is thrown at you on race day. We have these seemingly perfect cool days in August, and it’s babying me.. I’m afraid for whatever is thrown at me.. I haven’t had any chance to acclimate to the heat, because there hasn’t been much of it!

Leave a Reply

