Hello Again…

No I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth…

Felt like I was about to a few times, but thankfully the planet is round. Phew! Lucky me.

Spring has been crazy busy and to be honest, blogging was shelved. Things have finally settled down and I have a few minutes to catch my breath and get a quick update posted. I know y’all are itching with anticipation!

So what’s been going on??!!!

Well, now that you ask….

A LOT actually!

Around the first of the year, I got together with a few characters and we decided to start a multi-sport team here on the gulf coast. WHO KNEW how much work it would be! I assure you, I did not.

But it was…and still is. This is not a project I would recommend tackling, we basically function in sink or swim mode. The paperwork is ridiculous, graphics/art a nightmare, and trying to get people involved (aside from signing up) is near impossible. Sounds like a party, eh?

And here we are! woo-hoo!

I’m actually pretty proud of what we’ve started and with a good foundation I know things will only grow upward. Crazy times getting here though, that’s for sure!

Check us out:

www.hurricanemultisport.com or

www.facebook.com/hurricanemultisport

Bj7hTuUIAAAXymk.jpg-mediumIn the midst of getting this group up and running there was training and a little (err hilly) half marathon on my schedule. Y’all will be happy to know I did survive, but barely! I’m not embarrassed to say that it kicked my ass. The recovery was worse than my Ironman. The downhill portion was particularly brutal and I was in misery for well over a week. My high hip flexors are still not 100% and they require daily work to keep them supple and happy. Sadly, it was a training run so I can’t even say I ran it fast and that was the cause. It was simply not being prepared for the terrain.

Bad athlete!

That being said, I was very pleased with my “non-rested/tapered”, hilly, windy half marathon time of 2:03 and 5th in my age group. The real purpose was to finalize nutrition and hydration for Gulf Coast 70.3. Mission Accomplished! It was a good day, overall. It’s taken a while to get here, but I feel really good about where my running is right now. And not a moment too soon as race season is literally right around the corner!

I had about two days to catch my breath, wash some clothes, hand out some team t-shirts we were on to hosting our first team pro clinic. Yup!

Go Big or Go Home, right?

Linsey Corbin came to town the weekend after winning Ironman Los Cabos for a few workouts and a whole lot of socializing! Friend and bike fitter, Mark Miller of Precision Bikes in Lafayette, La is actually very close to Linsey and Chris Corbin and was nice enough help arrange the weekend.

It was a whole lot of fun, but took me almost 4 days to recover. Do you see a pattern here? I’ve been doing an awful lot of recovering lately! Let’s hope that works out for me…

A few pictures of the weekend….

IMG_0015

Lazy Magnolia Brewery Tour

 

IMG_0379

Group Dinner

Linsey's post-ironman fuel plan

Linsey’s post-ironman fuel plan

Group Dinner

Group Dinner

Group Ride

Group Ride

Bike Fits with Mark

Bike Fits with Mark

 

 

It was a great weekend!

Mark Miller really went above and beyond to help put this thing together. It’s always such a pleasure to be in his company and when he brings along such gracious people like Chris and Linsey Corbin it’s just lagniappe!

If you ever plan on being in the Lafayette, La area you should take a few minutes to stop by his shop or take the morning to have him look at your bike fit. It’s always time well spent.

So there ya’ have it!

The past six weeks have flown by and the next three will be just as busy.

Following Easter weekend, the season really gets going. We’ve got events lined up for the next three weekends starting with a sprint tri and wrapping up with Gulf Coast 70.3 in Florida.

FINALLY!

This winter seems to be dragging on forever. I don’t know about y’all, but I’m long overdue for a high heart rate and a good sweat in ugly matching spandex…

Bring on the races! 🙂

Run Happy, My Friends!

happy runner

One thought on “Hello Again…

  1. Congrats on getting a team together! I bet it’s a lot of work. I wish I lived there, a team would make life a bit easier I think!
    Congrats on the 13.1 too! Wow, 5th in your AG? There’s no stopping you.

Leave a Reply

